Xyling.com

How to Protect your Data on Facebook and Instagram

Social networks allow us to share our experiences, connect with old friends and keep up with the latest memes. Also quickly access news before they reach newspapers and television networks. But they require responsible use. The ease with which all types of people can access our personal information is a risk that must be considered .

Harassment, unwanted advertising, illicit use of personal information … If we are not careful we can be exposed to undesirable behaviors. But against the general perception, it is not difficult to protect our profiles to avoid problems . On the contrary, it is only necessary to be a little cautious and configure our options as we show you below.

How to protect your data on Instagram

Turn off the option to share your photos

Instagram has a very interesting option that makes it possible to viralize the diffusion of our contents allowing them to be shared by other people. However, some people may be interested in using their profile as an album open to the public but more personal use. By configuring this field we can prevent our photos from being sent to other users through a message .

To change the option to share images and stories we just have to access the options section. There, within the configuration of the story, you will find the “allow sharing” feature. Unset .

Activate manual label approval

Instagram has an interesting function through which it is possible to tag people who appear in a photo. Everyone can make use of this feature, so that when we are “marked” by a friend, that photo will also appear in our profile under the tagged images section. But not everyone wants these photos to appear on their Instagram page .

And is that, although some friends remember fondly the step by the institute, that life experience has been able to leave images that we might not want to keep in our profile … However much they insist.

While anyone can tag us (unless we have it blocked), it is possible to prevent the photos in which we are tagged from appearing on our profile. To do this you just have to mark that they are added manually instead of automatically. In this way, Instagram will ask us for permission to publish the photos in which we leave tagged in our profile .

Hide the location of the photos

Instagram allows you to point to the place where a photo was taken. While this is an optional feature, there are people who may want to avoid it altogether. To avoid that Instagram can access our location we must enter the Android settings (and not the application), search for GPS access permissions and disable Instagram .

It is also possible to eliminate the geographical referencing of an already published photograph. You just have to edit it manually and delete the location field . Never again will our followers know where we are (or have been).

The most drastic option: make your profile private

This is the most drastic option . And possibly the least used of Instagram, but there are always people who do not want to share their best moments and trivia with the entire network of networks, but only with their closest group of friends. For them there is the option to create a private account.

Available in the options of the application, Instagram allows you to configure any account as private (and return it later to its public status if desired). In this way only the people you approve can see your profile , thus avoiding curious looks. You will not gain many followers, but you will be sure to always be surrounded by your contacts. And only of them.

How to protect your data on Facebook

Control who has access to your contacts, pages and post

Control the privacy options of Instagram is not very difficult. Facebook is another world. Another universe, even. Fortunately, most of these functions can be found in the configuration menu created for this purpose, where it is possible to indicate who can send you a friend request. Something important if, for example, you do not want to be written by people outside of your personal circle. This section can be found by displaying the menu that appears in the upper right corner and clicking on “configuration”.

Equally important is the ability to limit the scope of your messages. There may be times or opinions that you only want to share with personal friends. Or with relatives. Or with coworkers. From this section you can configure if your messages are public or if they can only be read by groups that you can define , avoiding possible headaches. And leaving football or politics outside of work is never a bad idea …

Learn to use restricted access

This is a little known option and that possibly deserves more attention. Sometimes we add people to Facebook for commitment or need, but we really do not want them to see our publications . To avoid this, we can add it to the list of people with restricted access.

Basically this function allows you to maintain contact with a user but without being able to read our updates, unless they are public. It should be noted that Facebook does not notify contacts when they are added to this list , so you have nothing to fear.

Check  time to time what your contacts can see

One of the problems of Facebook is that we end up adding contacts by the dozens and in the end we do not know who is configured as a friend, family member or co-worker. And we may not want everyone to see the same thing. To know if our content is reaching each group and friend properly, we can visit our personal page as if we were one of them .

This feature can be found by visiting our personal profile and clicking on the suspension points next to the activity record . Then we can select a profile and see our page as if we were that person, making sure that all our messages (and not one more or one less) are being published as we want.

Do not forget to take a look at this option from time to time. It can avoid problems .

Disable location services

Like Instagram, Facebook incorporates location services. This feature is only present in the mobile application. If you do not want to share where you are with anyone (and it’s not a bad idea), you can disable that feature from the account settings menu . Then go to “Location” and modify this field. That easy.

What if one day I’m gone? Plan the inevitable

Although it may be a somewhat tricky option, Facebook offers the possibility of giving a contact the ability to edit our page if we die some day . This is a real problem, and is that although a deceased person no longer has rights, while still alive should be able to say what happens with your personal information on the day that is no longer. For that there is the legacy contact .

Basically a legacy contact is a person authorized so that the day someone dies they can contact Facebook to communicate the death. Then this person can manage this page and configure it as a reminder site, or simply delete it if you wish . A feature little known and perhaps unpleasant for some, but that many people claimed for some time.

General safety advice

While these tips are technical in nature, do not forget that the best way to protect our personal data is by using common sense . Social networks can provide countless fun times and help us make friends, but you have to use them wisely. Do not forget, therefore, to use your head. The privacy setting is not everything.

  • Do not say when you’re traveling . We all like to share our best photos of the holidays, but the thieves can follow your step to know when you will be out. Watch out.
  • Activate the verification in two steps . You will prevent a person with access to your email address and password from stealing your account.
  • Beware of the apps that you give permission to access your data. Many applications ask you to access your Facebook data to improve their features or integrate with the social network. Beware of those little known or reputable.
  • Do not give more information than necessary. Never post photographs of official documents, addresses, credit cards or license plates .

Team Xyling

Making life simpler................

Add comment

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.